James Mallory's Philosophical Notebook

Defeating anxiety

With a calm state of mind, it is possible for the meager to achieve the extraordinary. The mind is a terrible master, but a powerful servant. Too often our limits are internally imposed, and we never achieve what is truly possible for us.

Where does my anxiety come from? I drive myself into a supreme state of worry that results in disastrous panic. I get into my own head, and destroy my ability to do things which are well within my power to achieve.

My anxiety comes from fear - but not any fear. It is the fear that I will not be able to handle what is to come. Often, what is to come is not truly what is to come, but a catastrophized version of the worst possible outcome. Moreover, sometimes 'what is to come' is anxiety itself, creating an awful, self-fulfilling loop.

Defeating anxiety therefore requires defeating fear. In one interpretation, this means steeling one's nerves and callousing one's mind against the punishment of life. But this is not the optimal route for doing so, and, in fact, not the most robust one. For no matter how much you train yourself, it is always possible to meet a situation you are untrained for.

Instead, practice a profound indifference toward the worst possible outcome. What's the worst that happens? I die? Well, I do not expect to live a long life anyway, so what difference does it make if my death comes now instead of in another 20 years.

I feel pain? Well, it's not a big deal. After all, eventually the pain will end, or I will die. Since I have established I'm indifferent toward death, there's no sense worrying about a pain that will eventually end.

I pass out, drop my phone down a gutter, hit my head on concrete, and wake up thirsty, sweaty, and bleeding? No matter. I will stumble my way home and patch myself up. If not, perhaps I'll die - once again, death is the ultimate outcome, and I know it's coming for me soon. So it's not something to worry about.

There's a certain form of anxiety that's less severe, but almost as ugly - social anxiety. The worry that people won't take us seriously, that they won't like us, that we'll embarrass ourselves, and more. I find that once I have the internal confidence that I am not a man of worry and anxiety, this social anxiety fades as well. For if we can accept ourselves, what difference does it make who else can accept us?

I will develop a powerful internal confidence that I can handle anything. This confidence is built on profound indifference. No outcome is too bad that it will spark worry or fear, because I simply do not care about death or pain. I can handle any situation with a calm state of mind precisely because I know I will not yield to an uncertain future.